2015 Cadillac XTS Earns Five-Star Safety Rating From NHTSA

Jul 02, 2014 03:01 PM EDT | Matt Mercuro


General Motors has announced that the 2015 Cadillac XTS sedan recently earned a five-star overall safety rating from the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration

The new Cadillac XTS earned five stars in the front and side crash tests and four stars in the rollover crash test.

Safety equipment available for the new XTS includes knee air bags, side-impact air bags, head-curtain air bags, dual-stage air bags, and seat side-impact air bags for rear passengers, according to the automaker.

A rearview camera with dynamic guidelines is standard on Luxury, Premium and Platinum Collections also comes standard for the XTS.

The Driver Awareness package comes standard with all Premium and Platinum Collections and is available on Luxury, according to GM.

The package features lane-departure warning, rear cross-traffic alert, side blind-zone alert, forward-collision alert, and Safety Alert Seat.

New for 2015 is a Lane-keep assist feature, though it is only available on front-wheel-drive models only, according to the automaker.

The Driver Assist package is standard on the Platinum Collection and available on the Premium Collection.

The package comes with all of the Driver Awareness package content, front/rear automatic braking and full-speed range adaptive cruise control.

Vehicles that compete with the XTS includes the 2014-'15 Acura RLX, Audi A6 and Chrysler 300C, among other models.

The Insurance Institute for Highway Safety has not rated the 2015 XTS yet however.

NHTSA's rating applies to front-wheel-drive and all-wheel-drive versions of the XTS, according to GM.

The 2015 model is available for purchase now.

See Now: OnePlus 6: How Different Will It Be From OnePlus 5?

© 2021 Auto World News, All rights reserved. Do not reproduce without permission.
Get the Most Popular Autoworld Stories in a Weekly Newsletter

Join the Conversation

Real Time Analytics