2015 Audi A6, S6 Earn Five Stars for Safety from NHTSA

Jul 02, 2014 04:09 PM EDT | Jordan Ecarma


The 2015 Audi A6 and S6 sedans have received the highest possible ratings for safety after federal crash tests.

The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration has awarded the sedans five-star safety ratings after front, side and rollover crash tests that apply to front-wheel-drive and all-wheel-drive versions of the vehicles, Edmunds.com reported.

In the standard trim, the A6 and S6 are equipped with "eight airbags, including knee airbags and hydraulic brake assist that automatically senses emergency braking and applies maximum available power boost to reduce overall stopping distance," according to Edmunds.

The A6 competes in its segment with the 2014-'15 BMW 5 Series, Cadillac CTS, Lexus GS and Mercedes-Benz E-Class.

The 2015 A6 and S6 have not yet been rated by the Insurance Institute for Highway Safety.

Launching in the 2012 model year, the A6 is a fourth-generation midsize luxury model. The base Audi A6 runs on a turbocharged 2.0-liter engine generating 211 horsepower and 258 pound-feet of torque, according to Edmunds.

Front-wheel drive and a continuously variable automatic transmission are standard for the A6. Offered at a competitive price, the A6 features a deluxe cabin, the latest in Audi design and a large trapezoidal grill.

See Now: OnePlus 6: How Different Will It Be From OnePlus 5?

© 2021 Auto World News, All rights reserved. Do not reproduce without permission.
Get the Most Popular Autoworld Stories in a Weekly Newsletter

Join the Conversation

Real Time Analytics