Uber Hack: U.S. Users Complain About Rides They Didn't Take

May 05, 2015 09:39 AM EDT | Matt Mercuro

Close

If you're one of the millions of people who use the popular ride-sharing app, Uber, you might want to change your password.

Hackers have been targeting Uber users in the U.S. lately, and some of them are selling sensitive information to people around the world for as low as $1, according to BGR.

"It was crazy," said Stephanie Crisco to Motherboard. "I used Uber for the first time Thursday night. On Friday morning, I received a notification on my phone that my driver was en route. I didn't request a driver. I clicked on the notification and it said that the ride was cancelled, but the pickup was in London."

Crisco proved that she had been hacked by posting recent rides charged to her account on her Twitter feed.

Crisco has had to cancel her bank card to make sure no additional charges were allowed to go through, according to Motherboard. Uber has since refunded her money for the charges, but she is hardly the only one dealing with the issue.

Other people have taken to Twitter to complain about being charged for rides they didn't take as well.

A Uber spokesperson told Motherboard that they have not found any evidence of a breach so far.

The company recommends that all users, whether you've been using Uber for years or plan on signing up today, should make sure their user names and passwords are "strong and unique" to prevent identity theft.

Users who have already been hacked can visit Uber's customer support site for more information.

See Now: OnePlus 6: How Different Will It Be From OnePlus 5?

© 2020 Auto World News, All rights reserved. Do not reproduce without permission.
Get the Most Popular Autoworld Stories in a Weekly Newsletter

Join the Conversation

Real Time Analytics